clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

NCAA Hockey Tournament 2013 Regional Sites Announced

Getty Images

The NCAA's men's ice hockey committee announced today the selections for the four regional sites for the 2013 Division I Men's Hockey Tournament.

"The four sites and regionals, being held between March 29-31, include: East Regional in Providence, R.I.; Northeast Regional in Manchester, N.H.; Midwest Regional in Toledo, Ohio; and the West Regional in Grand Rapids, Mich.

Brown will serve as hosts for the East Regional and New Hampshire will host the Northeast Regional. Bowling Green will host the Midwest Regional and Michigan will host the West Regional."

The East regional returns to Providence for the first time since the 2003 tournament. That year, Boston College was the number 2 seed in the East regional, advancing past the first round with a 1-0 win over Ohio State before falling to Cornell 2-1 in double overtime in the regional final.

This year's NCAA Tournament regionals will be held in Bridgeport, Ct. (East), Worcester, Mass. (Northeast), Green Bay (Midwest) and St. Paul, Minn. (West). Worcester / Holy Cross will host the Northeast Regional for the fourth time since 2006. The Eagles have played in Worcester in each of the 2006, 2008 and 2010 tournaments, advancing to the Frozen Four each time (and winning it all in 2008 and 2010, obvi).

The 2013 Men's Frozen Four will be held in Pittsburgh, Pa., at the Consol Energy Center, April 11 and 13. The 2012 championship will be held at the St. Pete Times Forum in Tampa, Fla., April 5 and 7.