clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2010 NCAA Hockey Tournament Update: Yale Upsets North Dakota, RIT Punches Frozen Four Ticket

This weekend, college hockey took a cue from the Butler Bulldogs as Cinderellas continue to thrive in this year's NCAA men's ice hockey tournament.

Starting in BC's Northeast Region, the Yale Bulldogs took a 3-0 lead into the third period and eventually held on, upsetting #2 ranked North Dakota. The Fighting Sioux scored 2 goals in the final period but the Bulldogs were able to withstand sustained pressure from North Dakota and pull out the W. Yale's Denny Kearny scored two goals while Mark Arcobello what would prove to be the game-winner. The win was Yale's first win in the NCAA men's hockey tournament since 1952. 

The Northeast Regional final will be a local, all-New England affair. The Eagles will have traveled a mere 40 miles to play in the Regional final at the DCU Center, while Yale will have traveled only 100 miles. The winner of tomorrow's Regional final will face the winner of tonight's Wisconsin-St. Cloud State West Regional final (currently underway).

In the East Regional final, Atlantic Hockey champion RIT used a flurry of 3 goals in a span of a few minutes in the second period to upset #3 New Hampshire 6-2. Another year, another New Hampshire post-season meltdown? A day after blasting Cornell 6-2, the Wildcats had no answer for Tiger goaltender Jared DeMichiel. UNH went 0-for-5 on the man-advantage. With the win, the Tigers punched their first-ever ticket to the Frozen Four. In addition, RIT is the first Atlantic Hockey program to make the Frozen Four. RIT will take on the winner of Wisconsin-St. Cloud State in the National Semifinal.

Here is your TV viewing schedule for tomorrow's hockey action:

5:30 PM ET - Boston College vs. Yale - ESPNU
8:00 PM ET - Miami (Ohio) vs. Michigan - ESPNU

Go Eagles!