clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Luke Kuechly Named Finalist For Bronko Nagurski Trophy, But Can He Actually Win?

On Wednesday, the Football Writers Association of America and the Charlotte Touchdown Club announced that BC sophomore LB Luke Kuechly was named one of five finalists for the 2010 Bronko Nagurski Trophy. The Nagurski Trophy is awarded annually to the best defensive player in the country.

Clemson DE Da'Quan Bowers, Auburn DT Nick Fairley, Georgia LB Justin Houston and LSU CB Patrick Peterson are the other four finalists for the FWAA's National Defensive Player of the Year Award.

It's a pretty big honor for BC's sophomore to be named as a finalist for the award, but can Kuechly actually take home the hardware?

At first glance, it doesn't look like a sophomore has ever won the award. The ACC also has never had a Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner. Miami has taken home two Bronko Nagurski Trophies (Warren Sapp, Dan Morgan) and Virginia Tech one (Corey Moore), but each as members of the Big East.

Can Kuechly overtake fellow conference defender Bowers and a trio of SEC defensive players? Who ya got winning the award?