The Eagles' All-Decade Hockey Team


Because everyone else is getting all decade nostalgic on us. A look at back at the decade that was Boston College athletics from children of the decade (BC's Class of 2004).

This is an attempt to rank the decade's best Eagles' ice hockey players. This considers Eagles who played on any team from 2000-2001 to 2009-2010. It gets fairly complicated when you include the seniors on the 1999-2000 teams. There was plenty of talent in that senior class (Mike Mottau, Blake Bellefeuille, Jeff Farkas) but at the end of the day, they only played 3 months of this decade so they were omitted for this exercise.

First Team All-Decade

F - Brian Gionta
F - Nathan Gerbe
F - Patrick Eaves
D - Brooks Orpik
D - Bobby Allen
G - Cory Schneider

No first team all-decade squad would be complete without two of the most dynamic BC scorers in the past 10 years. Both Brian Gionta and Nathan Gerbe had a knack for completely taking over a game. Both brought home National Championships for the Eagles. On defense, Brooks Orpik might have been the hardest hitting defender the Eagles have had the last ten years. Bobby Allen was the lynch pin of the Eagles defense that got the Eagles to four consecutive Frozen Fours from 1997-1998 to 2000-2001. In net, while Scott Clemmensen and John Muse both won National Championships, I think Schneider was slightly more dominant in net in his three years in Chestnut Hill. Schneider twice came within a goal of bringing home another Title to Boston College.

Second Team All-Decade

F - Tony Voce
F - Ben Eaves
F - Chris Collins
D - Rob Scuderi
D - J.D. Forrest
G - Scott Clemmensen

Ben Eaves and Tony Voce provided much of the firepower on offense in the years immediately after the 2000-2001 National Championship. The pair ran 1-2 in points in 2001-2002 and 2002-2003 with Voce leading the team in his senior season. Chris Collins made a strong case to win the Hobey Baker in 2005-2006, registering 34 goals and 29 assists in 42 games. On defense, I have Rob Scuderi and J.D. Forrest patrolling the blueline on the second team. And finally, in net, I'll take Scott Clemmensen. Clemmensen has a National Championship and many of the Eagles' all-time goaltending records to show for his four dominant years at BC.

Third Team All-Decade

F - Brian Boyle
F - Ryan Shannon
F - Brock Bradford
D - Andrew Alberts
D - Nick Petrecki
G - Matti Kaltianinen

Boyle lead the Eagles in scoring in 2006-2007, beating out Gerbe with 19 goals and 34 assists in 42 games. Boyle also finished second in scoring his junior year and fourth in scoring after his sophomore year. Shannon never led the team in scoring, but finished in the top 3 his sophomore, junior and senior years. Bradford might be a stretch considering he only had one great season and was hampered by injuries his junior year, but he made the most of his senior year - leading the Eagles in scoring in 2008-2009. On defense, Andrew Alberts and Nick Petrecki make the third team. And in net, I'll go with Matti Kaltianinen over John Muse. While Muse has a title, Kaltianinen really kept the Eagles momentum going this decade and successfully bridged the years between Clemmensen and Schneider.

Honorable Mention: Krys Kolanos (F), Chuck Kobasew (F), Stephen Gionta (F), Carl Sneep (D), Mike Brennan (D), John Muse (G).

Your thoughts?