Boston College's Olivier Hanlan Wins 2013 ACC Rookie Of The Year

Bob DeChiara-USA TODAY Sports

Michael Jordan, CP3 and now Olivier Hanlan.

Boston College freshman guard Olivier Hanlan has been named ACC Rookie of the Year by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association. Hanlan received 43 of the 77 votes cast by the ACSMA. Duke's Rasheed Sulaimon finished second with 15 votes. N.C. State's T.J. Warren received 12.

The Alymar, Quebec native leads the league in freshman scoring (14.6 PPG) and was the league's only unanimous selection to the All-Freshman team. Hanlan is the only freshman to rank in the top six in points (14.6), rebounds (4.2) and assists (2.3) among the rookie class. He ranks sixth in the ACC in conference scoring (15.7) and is eighth overall (14.6). Hanlan leads all freshmen with 26 double-digit scoring games.

Hanlan becomes the first Boston College player to take home ACC Rookie of the Year honors. Since the conference started awarding Rookie of the Year honors in 1975-76, Georgia Tech has taken home a conference best 11 ROY awards. North Carolina (9), Duke (5), Virginia (4) and Wake Forest (3) round out the top five. Maryland has two, while Clemson, Florida State, N.C. State and now BC have one.

1976 - Jim Spanarkel, Duke
1977 - Du/Whitney Gminski, N.C. State
1978 - Gene Banks, Duke
1979 - Buck Williams, Maryland
1980 - Ralph Sampson, Virginia
1981 - Sam Perkins, North Carolina
1982 - Michael Jordan, North Carolina
1983 - Mark Price, Georgia Tech
1984 - Bruce Dalrymple, Georgia Tech
1985 - Duane Ferrell, Georgia Tech
1986 - Tom Hammonds, Georgia Tech
1987 - J.R. Reid, North Carolina
1988 - Dennis Scott, Georgia Tech
1989 - Bryant Stith, Virginia
1990 - Kenny Anderson, Georgia Tech
1991 - Rodney Rogers, Wake Forest
1992 - Bob Sura, Florida State
1993 - Martice Moore, Georgia Tech
1994 - Joe Smith, Maryland
1995 - Greg Buckner, Clemson
1996 - Stephon Marbury, Georgia Tech
1997 - Ed Cota, North Carolina
1998 - Robert O'Kelly, Wake Forest
1999 - Chris Williams, Virginia
2000 - Joseph Forte, North Carolina
2001 - Chris Duhon, Duke
2002 - Ed Nelson, Georgia Tech
2003 - Chris Bosh, Georgia Tech
2004 - Chris Paul, Wake Forest
2005 - Marvin Williams, North Carolina
2006 - Tyler Hansbrough, North Carolina
2007 - Brandan Wright, North Carolina
2008 - Kyle Singler, Duke
2009 - Sylven Landesberg, Virginia
2010 - Derrick Favors, Georgia Tech
2011 - Harrison Barnes, North Carolina
2012 - Austin Rivers, Duke
2013 - Olivier Hanlan, Boston College

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join BC Interruption

You must be a member of BC Interruption to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at BC Interruption. You should read them.

Join BC Interruption

You must be a member of BC Interruption to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at BC Interruption. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.