Boston College's Kristen Mewis Named To 2012 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

Boston College women's soccer star Kristen Mewis was named to the 2012 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List today, as announced by the Missouri Athletic Club and the National Soccer Coaches Association of America. The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual award in college soccer, presented annually in January during a banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

Basically, it's the soccer Heisman Hobey Baker.

Mewis led last year's squad with six goals and eight assists for 22 points. She was named to the Hermann Trophy Watch List in both 2010 and 2011, named a semifinalist in both those years. In addition to being named last year's Offensive MVP, Mewis racked up NSCAA Division 1 All-America third team, NSCAA Southeast Regional first team, All-ACC first team and Soccer America MVP second team honors.

The BC senior is one of 10 players from the ACC on the Hermann Trophy watch list. Out of 38. The ACC is stacked.

The preseason watch list will be narrowed down by NSCAA members from Division I programs to 15 semifinalists by November 29. Member coaches and fans will then vote for their top three choices and the finalists will be announced December 6. The winners will be announced at the awards' banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club on Friday, Jan. 11.

The full watch lists follow the jump.

2012 NSCAA Women's MAC Hermann Award Watch List

Player Class Pos. School Hometown
Caitlin Alves Sr. M Hartford Ludlow, Mass.
Natasha Anasi* Jr. D Duke Arlington, Texas
Audrey Bledsoe Jr. GK Wake Forest Cincinnati
Morgan Brian* So. M Virginia St. Simon's Island, Ga.
Chelsea Buckland Sr. F Oregon State Vancouver, British Columbia
Zakiya Bywaters Sr. M UCLA Las Vegas
Abigail Dahlkemper So. D UCLA Menlo Park, Calif.
Vanessa DiBernardo Jr. M Illinois Naperville, Ill.
Crystal Dunn Jr. M North Carolina Rockville Center, N.Y.
Christine Exeter Jr. F Louisville Pickering, Ontario
Adrianna Franch* Sr. GK Oklahoma State Salina, Kan.
Kelsey Haycook So. F LaSalle Point Pleasant, N.J.
Maya Hayes# Jr. F Penn State West Orange, N.J.
Ines Jaurena* Sr. D Florida State Charenton-le-Pont, France
Tishia Jewell Sr. F Central Florida Satellite Beach, Fla.
Julie Johnston* Jr. M Santa Clara Mesa, Ariz.
Maegan Kelly Jr. M/F Marquette Kansas City, Mo.
Kaitlyn Kerr Jr. M Duke Bensalem, Pa.
Nadia Link Sr. F Long Beach State Walnut, Calif.
Lindsi Lisonbee Sr. D Brigham Young Park City, Utah
Bry McCarthy Sr. D West Virginia Ajax, Ontario
Tiffany McCarty* Sr. F Florida State Laurel, Md.
Kristen Mewis Sr. M Boston College Hanson, Mass.
Caroline Miller Sr. F Virginia Rockville, Md.
Kelley Monogue So. F Texas A&M McKinney, Texas
Christine Nairn Sr. M Penn State Arnold, Md.
Alexa Newfield Jr. M Georgia Atlanta
Christabel Oduro Jr. F Memphis Brampton, Ontario
Emily Oliver Jr. GK Stanford Flossmoor, Ill.
Michelle Pao Jr. D Pepperdine Cupertino, Calif.
Erin Quinlan Jr. GK Hartford Saugus, Mass.
Katie Stengel* Jr. F Wake Forest Melbourne, Fla.
Mallory Schaffer* Sr. M William & Mary Allison Park, Pa.
Erika Tymrak Sr. M Florida Lakewood Ranch, Fla.
Becca Wann Jr. F Richmond Chesterfield, Va.
Renee Washington Jr. M LaSalle Ewing, N.J.
Colleen Williams Sr. F Dayton Titusville, N.J.
Kathryn Williamson Sr. D Florida McKinney, Texas

* 2011 Hermann Award Semifinalist
# 2011 Hermann Award Finalist

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join BC Interruption

You must be a member of BC Interruption to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at BC Interruption. You should read them.

Join BC Interruption

You must be a member of BC Interruption to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at BC Interruption. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.